Final Network Learning Project Post

This week I wrapped up my Network Learning Project about Twitter.  During this project, I was involved in 13 different Twitter Chats!

TwitterChats
The text in blue shows Chats I was not involved in

 

Below is a video that summarizes my original goals for Twitter (learning how to use hashtags, how to join chats, how to manage the flow of chats, and proper norms/etiquette for the chats) and the answers I have discovered while using YouTube and Tutorials to help me in my learning.  I also included a short demo with some tips on how to respond in a chat.

Overall, this project was a great way for me to learn to use Twitter Chats effectively to expand my PLC.  I enjoyed having the opportunity to learn something with only YouTube videos and help forums.  To be honest, this is actually a way that I do most of my independent learning nowadays anyway!  For example, I learned how to put my hair in an up-do when I chaperoned prom, how to make certain recipes (I love the Tasty videos!), and even how to add equations to a spreadsheet.

I am a very visual person, so learning via videos makes sense for me.  I know many of my students have grown up with YouTube so they will feel the same way.  Therefore, I am going to continue to expand upon my collection of YouTube video tutorials that I use in class to supplement the learning process for my students.  For example, I created some videos for my 8th-grade students to model specific steps of the research process (such as how to cite things).  I knew the videos would be beneficial because it allowed students to learn at their own pace (since every student was on a different part of the project) and the videos allowed for repeat watching so the students could check that they completed the step correctly.

I am very pleased with my progress on Twitter (see the images below!) and am excited to continue using Twitter to chat, learn new ideas, and grow my PLC!

 

2 thoughts on “Final Network Learning Project Post

Leave a comment